Heels Down

Barbara made a comment at my last lesson that took some time for me to process.  She said that by using my heels to get PJ to go I was tensing my leg, which was actually a cue to not go.  To goal is to be loose in my joints and the more bounce I have the more trot he should give me; becoming stiff in my joints is the definition of a half-halt.

So today, my goal was to keep my heels down no matter what. I had thought it would be easier than it was because I had deluded myself that when I used my heels it was totally on purpose.  Nope – it had become a habit.

I started out on a loose rein going around the ring.  I played around with asking him to go forward by thumping my calves (and not heels) and then half-halting with my seat. At first doing a transition to walk (trying to get him to sit behind) and then doing transitions within the trot.  I worked him both directions.

After a short walk break, I picked up contact and did the same exact thing.  To the right I actually felt like he went forward pretty nicely.  To the left, at least I had power steering.  It just didn’t feel as forward.  I don’t think we’re ready to try any of this at the canter yet.

My right heel kept wanting to be used, and I had to keep it in the forefront of my mind to stop myself.  I had a lot more trouble putting my left calf on than my right and I don’t know if its due to a crookedness in me (most likely) or PJ (probably a contributor – the way he’s bent).  It feels like I’ve taken many steps backwards in our training but it also feels like I’m on the right track.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

