Going It Alone

It was with much trepidation that I turned into the barn driveway.  It was going to be the first time I was riding PJ since his Bridget boot camp.  And I doing it without Bridget and without Barbara.

I think part of PJ’s spooking last week was because he was just so tired that he was trying anything to get out of the work.  He usually has a good work ethic.  Although I think it was good for him, if I need to do this again, I’m going to give him a day off in the middle.  And the fact that he was bad with me when I got on him after Bridget on Friday was good too b/c Bridget talked me through it and now I have an idea of what to do when he’s good because it’s only a matter of degrees.  The same thing I did to get him to go when he was bad is the same thing I need to do when he’s good, only not as strong.

My ride today went well.  I got him in front of my leg and kept him there.  It was a lot of work!  I only rode for 20 minutes and took lots of breaks.  I didn’t want to get tired and then have him take advantage.  I have a lesson tomorrow, so we’ll see how it goes.

Bottom line: lots of inside leg. Keep the contact at all costs. Forward is off my seat and use the whip hard if he doesn’t listen.  Simple right?  Ha ha ha ha!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

