Clinic Day 2 – Not

My friend, Maryann, and I were supposed to go up and watch part of the second day of the clinic but when I got to the barn I found PJ with a swollen leg.  Instead, I spent time cold hosing his leg.  I put a call into the vet and since he was coming to the barn anyway to check on a mare, I asked him to look at PJ too.  I’m just waiting for the vet to call me.  Barbara thinks he banged himself.  It would be my fault too.  I forgot to bring boots or polos with me to the clinic.  I had them in the car but didn’t transfer them to the trailer.  Hopefully he’ll be okay, but I’m feeling really guilty right now.

8pm update: Barbara called and told me that the vet was not happy with where the swelling and heat is – up high on the inside of his right hind leg.  He put a “cold cast” on him and he needs to stay in tonight and tomorrow night and then the vet will be back on Friday to check on him.  I should replace the cold cast tomorrow.  That’s it.  My poor baby.  Barbara still thinks it’s a blow.  I’m going to invest in these Dura-Tech Rapid-Wrap No Bow Bandages for shipping.  I don’t know that he did it in the trailer but these boots are easy to put on and recommended for trailering.  I don’t like those big boots that go over the hocks – they just seem so cumbersome to me and would create other issues.  As for riding.  I’m never forgetting my polos or boots again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

