PSA: Tighten Your Girth!

I have always been bad about tightening my girth.  Even though I never had a loose girth on purpose, I didn’t make a huge effort to make sure it was as tight as it could be.  It was  even a sort of warped sense of pride that I didn’t loose my balance with a loose girth.

And no, I didn’t fall under my horse or anything today, but it turns out that I have been doing my horse a disservice by not having a tight girth.  It turns out that PJ has a much more sensitive back than I thought he did.  Having a loose girth has been causing the saddle to shift just a little while I ride, which PJ hasn’t liked.  How do I know this?  Because after riding around a little in the Schleese and PJ being just okay, Barbara tightened up my girth about two holes and sent us on our way.  The transformation was amazing.  PJ was a completely different horse.  Much like he was when I first tried the Schleese saddle.  I didn’t need to push him to go forward; his back was round; he was bouncy.

Today’s ride made my saddle decision easier.  I was able to adjust the thigh blocks to be pretty good.  There’s just one more saddle I want try – another Schleese – before I make my decision.  It’s definitely going to be one of these two saddles because PJ goes so much better in it…as long as my girth is tight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PSA: Tighten Your Girth!

  1. feistylynnie says:

    Who knew? Congratulations!

  2. Dom says:

    Tight girths are one of the few things I’m very strict about. Glad you had a break through!

Leave a Reply

