Thinking About the First Horse Show!!!!

I sent my entry in for the first show of the season (it’s not the first show for this area, just for me).  It’s on April 1 at the USET in Gladstone.  One of the things on my bucket list is to show at the USET. I want to ride down the same centerline as Olympians.  I know, it’s silly.  This will just be a schooling show, which is how I want to start the show season.  I do want to show mainly recognized this year so I can go for a USDF all breed award – almost no Georgian Grandes show, so as long as I get above a 60 I should have a chance.

My friend, Jane, who I normally go to shows with, doesn’t think she’ll be ready with her mare but she’s agreed to drive us.  She’s the one with the truck and trailer.  She also volunteered to serve as groom.  It should be fun.  I love horse shows  because I love showing off my horse.  I think he’s the greatest and I want others to see that too.  I don’t like the baths and braiding, however. And I’m sure he won’t be shedded completely out either, so he won’t look so good, but it’s only a schooling show.

I was hesitant to post here that we’ve sent in our entry because I didn’t want to jinx it.  The horse is always fine until you send in your entry for a show, right?  We’ll see, I’m just so excited.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking About the First Horse Show!!!!

  1. Net says:

    “The horse is always fine until you send in your entry for a show, right?”

    I suffered the jinx this year, so hopefully you won’t have to! The day I mailed my check for what was supposed to be our first schooling show of the year, my horse sliced open his lower eyelid. It wasn’t a major injury, but I wasn’t taking him to a schooling show with stitches!

    Good luck to you at your show – sounds like you’re really ready for it!

Leave a Reply

