Everything in Moderation

I do prescribe to this philosophy, mainly.  Sometimes you just have to let loose or what is life about?  However, sometimes you can overdo it, even if it’s a good thing.  This week I overdid exercise.  It started last Monday while I was working with my personal trainer.  I was doing assisted pull ups using a heavier setting than normal and I felt a twang in my back.  I woke up the next morning not being able to move my neck in either direction.  I’m guessing I had a pinched nerve.

I rested up while it improved but then worked out again on Saturday.  I kept it moderate and felt okay.  My ride was good too.  On Sunday I was motivated to run on the treadmill, something I rarely did because it tightens up my hips, making riding more difficult, but I knew I was going to give PJ a day off, so what the heck?  I warmed up for 2 minutes and then ran at 7.0 for 2 minutes, rested 1 minute at the walk, ran at 6.5 for 2 minutes, walked for 1, ran at 6.0 for 2 minutes.  Then I repeated the routine twice more, running for 1 minute with 1 minute walk rests.  I ended with 8 minutes hard on the incline bike, thinking that would keep me loose . Ha!  No!

I woke up today barely able to move.  I could feel all of my muscles and their origin and insertion points (that’s where they attach to your bones) that’s how much they hurt – quads, hamstrings, calves.  But did I rest today? No!  I tried to ride the horse.  I couldn’t really get him off his front end -forward, yes, but not really pushing.  Then I went to the gym to work out with my trainer – I have a weekly appointment.  Normally I don’t tell him about any of my aches and pains because I’m there to work and don’t want to be coddled.  But today I had to say something because I could barely walk on the treadmill to warm up.  My trainer kept my workout to mainly upper body and I do feel better now that I’m sitting on the couch afterwards.  Hopefully though, I won’t wake up tomorrow regretting all of this stuff that’s supposed to be good for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

