Oh No Snow!!!

Today I had to deal with something I haven’t in a long time – years even – snow falling off the roof!  About every half hour, a little snow would fall off either the barn or indoor roof.  The first time it happened, I was grooming PJ.  We both jumped and then looked at each other: “What was that??!!!”  It took a minute to register that it was snow falling off the roof.

I was a little nervous getting on PJ because he was already high as a kite.  I found out after my ride that they hadn’t been out the day before.  He would not pay attention to me at all.  Luckily, when a little bit of snow fell, he just jumped in place, and when a bit more snow fell, he just skidded forward.

It’s supposed to be really warm again tomorrow (I’ll believe it when I see it).  That should take care of all of the snow.  I just wonder if it will just melt off or all come off in a sheet.  I had that happen once with my very first horse.  It was not fun, but luckily I was in a Western saddle.  It was very scary for both of us!

Of course, the alternative is not having an indoor at all and not being able to ride.  That’s really not fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

