2012 Riding Goals

For those who also follow Onthebit, you know she’s posted her 2012 goals (http://onthebit.wordpress.com/), which has inspired me to come up with my own.

So here they are:

1.  Ride in a recognized show.  I really want a USDF All Breed award and to do that I need to ride at recognized shows instead of schooling shows.  I probably only need to score above 60% to get one because not many GGs show.  So, my real goal is a USDF All Breed award, which involves going to multiple recognized shows (and doing well), but I’m going to start off modest and just hope I make it to one.

2. Solidify our canter departs.  I’ve made progress this year but they are still not consistent.  At least now with the indoor, I won’t be so far behind like last year.

3. Get stronger/fitter. I ride about 4 days a week, work out with weights 2-3 days per week, and do cardio 2-3 days per week.  I’m guessing to get stronger I need to ride more, which would involve riding a second horse (I can probably jump on my old guy).  However, I don’t have time due to work commitments, so I don’t really know how I’m going to accomplish this one. Maybe I’ll just have to be satisfied with eating more protein.

4. Get out of the ring more. Go for trail rides or just ride out in the fields.  It would be nice to do a hunter pace but I’m a chicken and I’ve seen how crazy those things can get.

That’s it. Anything else would be a bonus.  Of course, I want to get better overall – better contact, better position, better use of my legs, etc – but that’s too vague of a goal, and to accomplish Goal #1 and #2 these things need to happen.  I can’t wait to see how this year goes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Riding Goals

  1. onthebit says:

    I love your goals…and I think you are right about mine…I need to scale back since my pretty girl hasn’t even done well at a show yet! I would love to do a hunter pace with you, but I don’t know if my Lucky is going to be conducive to helping you and PJ if there is a problem. We need to find a like minded easy going third to go with us.

Leave a Reply

