Fun in the Sun

It was a busy day at the barn.  As I was pulling into the driveway, so were several horse trailers.  A group of Pony Club kids were having a lesson with Barbara.  Luckily, I planned on riding outside anyway because they were taking over the indoor.

I think all of the excitement got to PJ and he was a little up, so I decided that instead of heading straight to the upper field, I started in the downstairs ring.  I actually got PJ moving.  I did it by half halting (trying very hard not rely on my hands; just through my seat) for as many strides as it took to get him to sit a little and then sending him forward. After a few times of that, he went forward when I asked. He even cantered off when I ask and then didn’t canter off when I didn’t ask.  I figured he was good to go to the field.

The wind hit us strong when we crested the hill.  He wanted to look around but nothing like the last time we tried this.  I kept PJ listening to me and started my serpentines: walking down the hill and trotting up the hill.  It was a lot of work for him, but he was a trooper. I actually gigglied trotting up the hill it was so much fun, the way he was pushing and concentrating on what he was doing.  I really don’t know why I enjoyed it so much because it was a lot of work for me too, trying to keep my balance and not interfere with him and still pushing him forward.  We were both exhausted but I think both satisfied that we gave our all and isn’t that what this is all about?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

