I’m Getting Frustrated

PJ was a slug today.  What’s worse, he was a spooky slug.  I know the two go together – if he’s not going forward he can use that energy for other things like looking around.  At the end of my lesson I had had it.  We were trying to do leg yield and he just wasn’t moving off my leg.  I got so mad.  I kicked and whipped him, so that he swung his butt around when I put my leg on.  It wasn’t the totally correct response on my part.  I needed to have more outside rein and push him into a small circle so that he had to reach with his inside hind to keep himself balanced in such a small figure (Barbara talked me through it).  But wouldn’t you know it….after that little episode, PJ went forward.  We went around the ring and I didn’t have to tire myself out pushing.

So, am I not being demanding enough at the beginning of my ride?  That’s the question I’m going to try to answer in my next ride on my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

