The Value of Our Pets (that Means Horses Too)

My dog is back home.  All of her blood work was normal and she ate something at the hospital.  But now that she’s home, I can’t tell if she’s just tired or lethargic.  Regardless, she’s not herself.  We’ll just have to wait and see.   But this scare really brought home that my dog is 13 years old.  Up until this week, she was a rowdy, hyper, annoying, fun, athletic dog.  Everyone was shocked when I told them she was 13 (even our vet).  But I have to come to the realization that she is old and won’t be here forever.  We generally outlive our pets, which I think is a good thing for them, who hopefully will never know a world without love because their owner has died before them (although many do).

The lifespan of a horse is longer than a dog, which is both a good and a bad thing.  It’s a good thing because it gives us more time with them.  But it can be a bad thing if they become lame or not useful to us, and we need to take care of them.  Horses definitely cost more to take care of than dogs!

My animals (dog, horse, cat) are my companions, friends, sanity keepers, partners in sport (horse), hot water bottle when I have a cold (cat), fellow trail blazer (dog), sounding board for work ideas (dog), alarm clock (cat), and most importantly, my responsibility.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

