Riding Clears the Mind

I’ve been having a bad day.  My dog had been getting progressively more sick as the weekend went on and this morning was the worst, so I rushed her into the vet clinic first thing.  It meant canceling my lesson – no biggy when the dog’s health is at stake.  I held it together pretty well until the woman at the front desk asked me why I was there.  Now, I used to work at this veterinary hospital and I’ve seen a myriad of sick animals in my lifetime, but I couldn’t help it. This was MY dog, my constant companion, my baby.  I started crying.  I did manage to regain my composure enough to tell the vet what’s been going on.  He thought it best to admit her, put her on IV fluids, and run some blood tests.  Reluctantly, I handed over the leash and headed home alone.

Before I left the parking lot I called Barbara and rescheduled my lesson for 11am.  There was nothing more I could do for the dog, so I might as well ride.  I’m so glad I did.  At first, I couldn’t get the dog off of my mind.  But because PJ was surprisingly forward, Barbara pushed us to do more – refining my aids, getting PJ to sit better, and worked on canter departs and sitting trot.  This new work took a lot of concentration and physical awareness, so much so that I had to stop worrying about the dog.  When I got done riding, my fears returned but I felt better.  Since I got home I’ve been occupying myself with work but it’s been much harder to put the dog’s issues to the back of my mind in front of a computer than up on a horse.

I just got off the phone with the vet hospital.  She ate a lot of food, which was great because she hadn’t really eaten anything since Sunday morning when she stole the cat’s food :).  But we won’t know the whole story until the blood work comes back tomorrow.  It’s going to be a long night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Riding Clears the Mind

  1. OnTheBit says:

    I am so sorry to hear that 😦 I will keep my fingers crossed and think good thoughts that everything will be okay…

Leave a Reply

