Clear Aids Are Critical

I’ve created a canter monster.  I had been half-halting, half-halting, sending forward and asking for the canter depart.  While now PJ thinks any time I half-halt, half-halt, send forward that it means canter.  That’s a problem because sometimes it just means I want him to rebalance.  It also means that I haven’t been clear in my aids.

Barbara had me ask for the canter without the half-halting.  As long as he was in front of my leg he cantered off.  However, getting him in front of my leg was exhausting.  It takes legs and seat and whip.  There was no asking quietly and having him respond.  But…I’m hoping with work, that will come.  I have another lesson tomorrow, we’ll see how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

