Why Do We Love These Beasties???

So I’m sitting there in the movie theater waiting for Harry Potter to start and the previews come on.  And what is the first one? War Horse.  Maybe it’s because I saw the play and know the story but I started tearing up.  I’m never going to be able to watch the movie.  Why did I get so upset seeing horses suffer but not humans?  I know part of it is picturing my own horse, but that can’t be all of it.  Here is this strong, powerful, honest, beautiful animal that lets us control it.  Is that it?  Do they represent some quality we wish we possessed?

What is it about the horse that has inspired men throughout the ages?  Here are some quotes from famous people about this nobel beast:

I heard a neigh.  Oh, such a brisk and melodious neigh it was. My very heart leapt with the sound.”
 – Nathaniel Hawthorne

When you are on a great horse, you have the best seat you will ever have.”
 – Sir Winston Churchill

No philosophers so thoroughly comprehend us as dogs and horses.”
- Herman Melville

A canter is a cure for every evil.” – 
Benjamin Disraeli

A prince is never surrounded by as much majesty on his throne as he is on a beautiful horse.” – William Cavendish, Duke of Newcastle

Whoever said a horse was dumb, was dumb.” 
- Will Rogers

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

