Finally…An Indoor

It was an exciting day because we finally got to ride in the new indoor.  The footing was wonderful – it’s a coated sand that doesn’t need to be watered but still won’t be dusty.  PJ felt very bouncy.  It was great to have so much defined space – a regulation sized ring with a wall to ride to.

I was so impressed by how well PJ adjusted.  We’ve ridden in an indoor at 1 horse show last year but other than that, I don’t know if he’s ever been in an indoor.  The first time he saw himself in a mirror he jumped but then he got used to it.  He was a little looky out the windows but once we got to work, he focused.

Then there are the mirrors.  Both a blessing and a curse.  A blessing because I can see when I collapse.  A curse because it shows me how bad of a rider I am.  I definitely didn’t look like what I felt.  Good riders look so secure and soft.  I looked loose and weak.  I think tomorrow I’ll be riding without stirrups in the indoor with the mirrors and see what that does.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

