All That Ends Well…

I guess things have been progressively falling apart without me realizing it.  PJ was going forward when I sent him and he cantered off when I asked (sort of).  But what I didn’t realize was that he was just running forward.  My ability to turn seemed to have evaporated today.  Here’s how the conversation went with Barbara:

Me: Why is he bulging his shoulder to the outside and won’t turn?
Barbara: Because he’s not in your outside rein.
Me: Duh.  But he was going forward when I asked.  I have my inside leg on him by the girth, my outside leg back, I’m turning from my waist.  What’s wrong now?
Barbara: He’s not pushing from his inside hind.
Me: Well what do I do? I’m using my inside leg.
Barbara: Not enough.

To fix the issue she set up the four cones as I described in my post on March 29 (https://yearwithmyhorse.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/a-useful-exercise-from-my-lesson-today-contact/) It took doing it over and over and over and over, and Barbara telling me I still didn’t have him over and over and over and over before I got it.  It took me kicking him when he wouldn’t listen to my pushing leg, and using the whip when he wouldn’t listen to my kick.  If I didn’t follow this progression of aids, I got myself all contorted trying to push harder.  I also couldn’t feel “wrong” (inside hind not reaching enough) but I felt when it was “right.”  It was a different kind of bouncy that I really can’t describe, and everything from turning to half-halting to cantering was easy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

