A Long Day

I don’t know how people with full time jobs fit in riding time.  I have been totally swamped with work (yes, I found a new job – woo hoo).  Today I had a schedule of meetings that forced me to go to the barn at the end of the day.  I didn’t feel tired, but obviously something was off.  I had much less patience than I normally do.  PJ swung away from the mounting block twice (I had to get off after mounting b/c I dropped my gloves).  Normally I would just push him over and be a little forceful in making him stand there.  Today I whipped him over and yelled at him.

Our ride wasn’t all that good either.  He was in draft-horse mode.  You know, not overtly aggressive but using his size to be disobedient in a pushy way.  Originally I though it was because he was tired after a long day playing with his friends, as usually I get there in the beginning or middle of his day in turnout.  But maybe it was me.  Maybe I just wasn’t with it and I let him down.

I don’t know.  After he cantered on the left lead right when I asked, I quit.  I thought about picking a fight with him because he wasn’t really working with me, but decided ending on a good note was better than trying to teach him some sort of lesson that he wouldn’t understand.  Tomorrow I have a lesson in the morning. Yea!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Long Day

  1. onthebit says:

    Congrats on the new job!! I knew you would find one quickly!

Leave a Reply

