Lesson Learned

My lesson only lasted 40 minutes today, and the work was okay.  It’s funny how PJ and I have off days at the same time but for different reasons.  It was warm and PJ still has his winter coat, so he was not so motivated to go. 

Me, I was stupid.  I didn’t eat lunch before heading to the barn.  I wasn’t really hungry when I left the house but by the time I tacked up I could feel the drop in blood sugar.  By the end of my ride I was even a little dizzy.  Diabetes runs in my family, and although I’ve tested fine, I do think my metabolism is precarious.  I need to eat regular meals at the same time every day or else I get spacey, can’t concentrate, and usually bad things happen – like hitting another car while backing out of a parking space. Yes, it happened.  Because riding is so physical, it is especially important that I have enough fuel to get the job done. 

Lesson learned.  Next time I leave for the barn I will eat something even if I’m not hungry.  At least no one got hurt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson Learned

  1. I learned a long time ago that I needed to eat before I ride. I nearly got hurt before that dawned on me. Talk about a “duh” moment. LOL

    I’m glad you figured out the issue so you can fix it. Some people never figure out how important feeding your body is when doing physical exercise.

Leave a Reply

