Spring Forward

PJ is finally starting to shed.  It’s strange to be so happy about it, considering for the next month I’ll be covered in long black hair that not even the washing machine can get rid of.  Maybe because it’s a sign of spring and warmer weather.  Maybe it’s because I’m sick of looking at a fading, fuzzy giant Thelwell pony and miss my handsome black knight.  Maybe I’m tired of currying all of the mud that gets stuck in all of that long black hair.  Okay, so it’s all of those.

The horse is shedding.  The broodmares are getting fat.  My crocuses are starting to peek from the ground, and there are tiny buds on the trees.  Almost all of the snow has melted.  It’s spring(ish)!  A time to look ahead.  As I mentioned in my last post, I’m dealing with a major issue on the homefront – like so many people in this economy, I lost my job last week.  I’m trying not to look back at what went wrong or what I’m missing (an income).  And instead focus on what I need moving forward.  What do I want out of my life and how do I get it.  Priorities need to change.  For example, I think show season is out this year unless I find a new job soon.  But I don’t have plans on changing barns or stopping lessons.  I’m still working through the details.

At least the days are getting longer and the temperature is rising.  My family is healthy.  I have a great horse.  I have amazingly wonderful friends.  My dog still loves me. I’m okay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Forward

  1. onthebit says:

    You are absolutely still okay. This will just lead you in a new direction is all. I am sorry to hear that show season is out this year, but think about how much butt you will kick next year if you keep this years goals and just get an extra year of training in!

  2. Dom says:

    So jealous of everyone whose horse sheds before mid May.

Leave a Reply

