Focus

Today’s ride was all about focus.  PJ walked into the ring already looking around.  It didn’t help that I’m having issues on the home front and wasn’t all there either.  I guess it was PJ’s way of telling me to stop focusing on my problems and focus on his.  His most pressing problem turned out to be a turkey vulture in the woods.  He even scooted out from under me twice, but nothing big. 

I just put him to work and by the end, he was paying attention mainly to me.  I made him do little circles to figure-eights to serpentines to more little circles to big circles.  Then we worked on canter, and finished up with sitting trot (always going back to a nice long rising trot before ending).   For one short hour of my day I stopped focusing on what was going on in my life and thought of nothing but getting PJ to work correctly.  It was nice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Focus

  1. shinyfluff says:

    This is what I think makes riding so relaxing, even when it is filled with challenges or is frustrating: the total focus. Probably similar to yoga or meditation…

  2. Barbara says:

    Riding is like meditation. You have to focus on the riding and everything else fades away. It can give you a much needed break.

Leave a Reply

