Riding is More Fun with Friends

Yesterday I got to the barn and walked around the ring to see if it was rideable.  Only about a 15-meter circle was useable and the rest was ice.  I had resigned myself that riding was out even though it was warm when a friend I hadn’t seen in a while showed up.  Over the summer she had started taking lessons with Barbara but when the weather turned ugly, they stopped, for obvious reasons.  Because she didn’t own a horse, there had been no reason for her to come to the barn on all of those horrible days that Maryann and I went, but she’s a dedicated rider, so on this beautiful day she was determined to get on and stretch her legs.

Well, she motivated me.  She tacked up my old horse, Fletcher, who was one of the lesson horses she had been using. Together we walked up the hill and down the hill; did a couple of loops in the ring, and then went back up the hill and down the hill some more.  We chatted and just enjoyed being on the back of a horse.  It wasn’t a long ride, but we were both glad we had gotten on. Hopefully next weekend the weather will cooperate and she’ll show up again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding is More Fun with Friends

  1. Dom says:

    Agreed! I used to ride alone all the time. As a groom at a harness racing stable, I was pretty much the only one who knew how to ride, or wanted to for that matter. I had the only riding horse at the breeding farm. Now that I’ve got Erin, I marvel at how I made it through all those years.

  2. I ride alone a lot so I really appreciate getting the opportunity to ride with a friend too. Sounds like you had a nice day.

Leave a Reply

