I’m a Bad Horsey Mommy

I must apologize to PJ for being cheap and lazy.  One day towards the end of September, PJ shook his head after I put on his bridle.  I just chalked it up to him having a fly on his neck.  He only did it quickly and then he was fine.  A few days later, he did it again but this time I knew there wasn’t a fly.  Because he recovered right away I didn’t worry too much, but this pattern continued through the fall.  He did it maybe once every seven or eight rides.  By the time I got truly suspicious, the bad weather hit and there was no riding anyway. 

Fast forward to the last few weeks.  On the first nice day when I could ride, he did the same thing he had done last fall. Subsequently, he started to get weary of the bridle.  He knows he gets a sugar cube when he takes the bit but he was turning his head away from me when I went to put the reins over his head.  As early as before the holidays I had an idea it could be the bridle.  I now took a good look at it.  It’s a hand-me-down from not just my last horse, but the one before that.  I always knew the browband was a little tight and the crown rested right behind his ears, but it seemed okay.  And now for the reason for the apology.  I just didn’t want to go out and buy a new one.  But PJ was getting progressively worse about bridling so I knew I had to do something.  

Before rushing out to the tack store, I ventured up into my attic, which is home to a variety of old bridle parts.  Most were cob sized but I did find the original browband that went with the bridle he’s wearing.  It was a whole inch bigger than the one he had on.  I swapped it out and over the last few days I’ve been able to ride, he’s seemed much better.  Of course, this browband has a row of little gold hearts on it, which is not our style, but it will have to do until some tack store has an outrageous sale.  It’s only a schooling bridle, after all.

I did, however, purchase him a bridle with a fancy browband just for shows.  I can’t wait for it to get here.  The bridle has a padded noseband and crown.  The browband is very blingy with silver and abalone shell beads.  Hopefully, that’s enough to make it up to him for having to wear a bridle that didn’t quite fit right.  Sorry PJ.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

