Riding is Supposed to be Fun

Riding is supposed to be fun, at least for us amateurs (you pros have to ride even when you don’t want to).  That’s why I don’t feel bad not riding today. I had all intentions of getting on, but when I got to the barn I changed my mind.  It was cold and windy.  I didn’t care that it might have been productive – show season is right around the corner. Riding would not have been fun. 

I did have a good time grooming.  Maryann met me at the barn and we chatted as we curried our boys. I know that for me, part of the enjoyment I get from this hobby is the social aspect. I’ve made good friends at the barn, at shows, and during those times I’ve volunteered for my club.  When we get together, even outside of a horse-oriented event, we always have something to talk about!  Of course, our significant others often feel left out when the dinner table topic resolves around our horses’ poop schedules, how we didn’t keep our outside leg back enough when doing a leg yield, or how cute it was when the colt grabbed his lead rope off of the fence and swung it around. I hope to be able to enjoy horses and my horsey friends for many years to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding is Supposed to be Fun

  1. onthebit says:

    Good morning! I wanted to pass along the “Stylish Blogger Award” to you. You know I had to be the one to give you your first blog award!

Leave a Reply

