Priorities

Sometimes it seems like we are pulled in so many directions. As horse owners/riders we have one extra responsibility that those who don’t ride not only don’t have, but often don’t understand.  Even if we board somewhere that takes care of our horses’ needs, we still worry about them. 

During the winter my priorities don’t change but they do shift around a little.  Of course my husband is at the top of my list.  My New Year’s resolution is to keep my house a little neater, which is solely for my husband, who doesn’t like clutter.  Unfortunately he lives we me, who doesn’t mind it.  The horse is also right up there, but because it’s so cold, my barn time has diminished.  Thus, fitting in riding time is no longer an extremely time-consuming priority.  Instead, I am going to they gym more to stay in shape and reading more training articles to keep the theories in my head.  Walking the dog has moved up on the list because I have more time since I’m not driving 30 minutes each way to the barn.  Luckily she hates the cold and snow, so walks are still short.

Work is always a top priority because it allows for everything else.  I can’t say that I’ve changed much here because each job needs to get done well, so I’ve always devoted a lot of time and energy on what needs to get done.

So many little things are also on that list, such as fixing the cabinet door, cleaning out my closets, maybe reading a novel. It’s usually these modest, less important things that get put on the back burner.  Winter gives us a chance to fit these into our schedule.  I’m still wondering if it’s a worthwhile trade-off ― freezing cold and more time vs. sunshine and a hectic schedule― hmm.  I’ll get back to you about that one in the spring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

